Editor's PickLegal & Financial

Hawaii and Delaware begin to allow same-sex civil unions

Hawaii and Delaware join the list of states which recognize same-sex civil unions. Illinois, New Jersey, and Rhode Island already recognize civil unions providing state-level spousal rights to same-sex couples. Six other states and Washington, D.C. allow same-sex marriage – creating a patchwork of U.S. legislation for same-sex couples who want to legalize their unions. Marriage licenses are given to same-sex couples in Massachusetts, Connecticut, Iowa, Vermont, New Hampshire, New York and D.C. California’s struggle for marriage equality is stayed pending an appeal.